The Annual Interviews: An even more complicated exercise with the crisis?

The Annual Interviews: An even more complicated exercise with the crisis?


The annual interview, sometimes expected and sometimes badly experienced, is overwhelmed by the health context. If the Ministry of Labour has issued an order to authorise a postponement of the professional interviews that take place every 2 years, the situation is more complex for the annual interview. Usually taking place in January, this event, which is an essential part of company life and the collection of feedback, is for many people difficult to organise in good conditions. It must be said that there are many obstacles to a serene and ordinary organization: anxiety + felt by employees and managers, interviews in video and not in person, not to mention the almost generalized freeze on salaries. More than ever, good preparation is required for both parties to avoid any lasting disagreement.

Individual performance hit hard by the crisis

As a reminder, the annual interview makes it possible to draw up an assessment of the past year (both in terms of objectives and mission and behaviour). It is then an opportunity to evaluate the employee's performance and to discuss training and development. 

But how do you evaluate the performance of an employee who is struggling between teleworking, short-time working and a gradual return to work on site? 

In the face of the various difficulties encountered in the year 2020, it is necessary to take into account the lived reality. There is a balance to be found between exigency and benevolence . This year, the annual appraisal interview must include specific questions on the context of crisis and containment and in particular question the employee on the practice of telework.


In this context, it is better to support rather than punish employees .

This can be an opportunity to take into account the increase in employee skills (adaptability, remote management, etc.) and to highlight the efforts made. 

An organization by distancing itself makes feedback more complex

It is a fact, because of the health risk and the dispersed teams, 81% of companies intend to organise the annual maintenance remotely, according to a Deskeo study.

However, by distancing the organization from the interview, the relationship with the employees becomes more complex and cuts off their non-verbal communication, which is easily detectable in person.  

While some die-hard users may want to rely on email, phone calls and other collaborative messaging such as Slack, it is highly recommended to use video conferencing tools such as Zoom or Google Meet

As distance does not make it easy to understand messages, do not hesitate to repeat certain information in order to avoid any misunderstanding on the part of the interlocutor or even to ask the employee to rephrase

Also adapt the format and limit the interview to a maximum of 1h30. 

A stronger than usual emotional charge 

Employees have not been equal in the face of the impact of the crisis on their productivity and behaviour. The configuration of the confinement areas (quiet space, equipped office, good Internet connection, etc.) and the type of family unit (with or without young children) had a considerable impact on the productivity and morale of the troops. These are all elements that generate anger and frustration that we must be able to deal with. In fact, 31% of employees have higher expectations this year with regard to their annual interview, according to a survey by the jobboard Welcome To The Jungle published in November 2020. Among their major expectations, 41% cite the ability to project into the future, 22% the sincerity and authenticity of the exchanges, 19% a quality of listening and empathy and 15% quality and relevant feedback.

In this uncertain climate where criticism may be poorly accepted, it is best to prioritize the need for recognition and value adaptive capacity


In order to avoid any confrontation, it is strongly recommended toavoid the slightest unpleasant surprise. To do so, please ensure that you send all documents and information well in advance so that the employee can prepare fairly for his or her annual interview. 

Enough to put feedback back into the centre of manager-collaborator relations. According to the Welcome to the Jungle survey, more than 3 out of 10 employees (31%) say they do not feel able to express themselves freely during these interviews.

To allow the collaborator to express what is really on his heart, do not hesitate to leave a few phases of silence. This is a good way to make it easier to speak out.


In short, like the phase of returning to the premises last autumn, you must know how to be an active and empathetic listener and NOT act as if nothing had happened!

Wage increase excluded from 2020 rewards for most companies

According to a recent Figaro survey, 1 out of 5 companies intends to grant no increase. For the others, the amounts have been revised and the salary increase is expected to be particularly low. 

At Elevo, we believe that the operational and financial issues should be separated into two separate discussions. On the one hand, the professional discussion should focus on the employee's competence development (deviation from objectives and corrective actions). On the other hand, another interview should discuss the salary evolution. Mixing the two means increasing the risk of bias in the employee's behaviour, who risks only playing cards on the table when the data is in favour of his or her increase. Faced with a constrained non-upgrading, employers must speak with complete transparency on the economic situation of the company and invoke the choice of job preservation


The good news is that salary increases are not the only lever for employee engagement . It is conceivable to offer training or to be associated with new rewarding missions, especially for those who have proved themselves in the crisis. The planned change may also involve a new department or new responsibilities. 

Finally, don't forget to say thank you, it may be a detail for you but for some it means a lot. 

Tangible objectives to be set and met by 2021

For many employees, the crisis has dashed hopes of achieving pre-crisis results. However, according to the Welcome To The Jungle survey, 46% of employees surveyed say they are less committed than before and 48% think their work makes less sense than before.

This is a particularly salient issue for sales teams, where the variable component of remuneration can be close to 30%. The event calls for greater flexibility in (co-)defining objectives and for the integration of a "pandemic mode". 

For 2021, if there is no question of drawing a line under objectives, it is a question of changing dimension. Forget the annual objectives and break them down into stages. For your sales staff you can opt for short-term incentives/premiums. 

As for the content of the objectives, you can propose more accessible or more ambitious ones. If by chance you take the latter route, make sure that they can be revised according to the economic situation. 


Moreover, the crisis has placed most individuals under house arrest and forced them to "explore inner worlds", literally and figuratively. 

Employees were able to discover new aspirations in terms of mission, life balance and mobility, which must be taken into account. 

To do this, it is necessary to grant requests for teleworking (1 to 2 days in hybrid mode) or to give more responsibilities, through participation in departmental decisions or to give employees more responsibility with job adjustments for example


Finally, make a difference and stick to your word. 

70% feel that the annual interviews are not sufficiently followed up with concrete actions, according to the Welcome to the Jungle survey. So prove them wrong and reverse the trend. 

At Elevo, we are convinced of this, the future of HR will be enhanced by the data. Once your interview campaign is complete, you are able to d'analyse the results directly from the platform. Our team of experts is at your disposal to accompany you in the use of the data in order to steer your HR strategy and implement concrete actions following your annual interviews.

Elevo People Analytics Dashboard
Analysis dashboard on the Elevo platform


The Ultimate Kit for successful annual interviews

An appointment not to be missed.
Reading time : 
15
 min
The Annual Interviews: An even more complicated exercise with the crisis?

Our resources to better manage your teams

White Papers, Webinars, Tools and Videos

Les entretiens annuels: Un exercice encore plus compliqué avec la crise ?

Les entretiens annuels: Un exercice encore plus compliqué avec la crise ?


L’entretien annuel, tantôt attendu tantôt mal vécu, se retrouve bouleversé par le contexte sanitaire. Si le ministère du travail a pris une ordonnance pour autoriser un report des entretiens professionnels qui ont lieu tous les 2 ans, la situation est plus complexe pour l’entretien annuel. Rythmant d’ordinaire le mois de janvier, cet évènement incontournable dans la vie de l’entreprise et la récolte de feedbacks, est pour beaucoup difficile à organiser dans de bonnes conditions. Il faut dire que les freins à une organisation sereine et ordinaire sont légion : anxiété + ressentis chez les collaborateurs et managers, entretien en visio et non de visu, sans compter le gel quasi généralisé des salaires. Plus que jamais, une bonne préparation est de mise pour les deux parties pour éviter toute mésentente durable. 

Une performance individuelle malmenée par la crise

Pour rappel, l’entretien annuel permet de dresser un bilan sur l’année écoulée (que ce soit vis à vis des objectifs et de la mission que du comportement). C’est alors l’occasion d’évaluer la performance du collaborateur et de discuter formation et évolution. 

Or, comment évaluer la performance d’un collaborateur brinquebalé entre télétravail, chômage partiel et retour gradué sur site ? 

Face aux difficultés diverses rencontrées au cours de l’année 2020, il convient de prendre en compte la réalité vécue. Il y a un équilibre à trouver entre exigence et bienveillance. Cette année, l’entretien annuel d’évaluation doit intégrer des questions spécifiques sur le contexte de crise et de confinement et notamment interroger le collaborateur sur la pratique du télétravail.


Dans ce contexte, mieux vaut accompagner que sanctionner les collaborateurs. 

Ce peut être l’occasion de prendre en compte la montée en compétence des collaborateurs (adaptabilité, management à distance…) et souligner les efforts consentis. 

Une organisation en distanciel complexifiant le feedback

C’est un fait, en raison du risque sanitaire et des équipes dispersées, 81% des entreprises ont l’intention d’organiser l’entretien annuel à distance, selon une étude Deskeo.

Or, l’organisation en distanciel de l’entretien complexifie la relation avec les collaborateurs et ampute ces derniers de leurs communications non verbales, facilement décelable en présentiel.  

Si certains irréductibles comptent s’en remettre par confort aux mails, appels téléphoniques et autres messageries collaboratives de type Slack, il est vivement conseillé d’utiliser des outils en visioconférence de type Zoom ou Google Meet

La distance ne facilitant pas la compréhension des messages, n’hésitez pas à répéter certaines informations de manière à éviter toute incompréhension de la part de l’interlocuteur voire à demander au collaborateur de reformuler

Adaptez aussi le format et limitez l’entretien à 1h30 max. 

Une charge émotionnelle plus forte que d’ordinaire 

Les collaborateurs n’ont pas été égaux face à l’impact de la crise sur leur productivité et leur comportement. La configuration des lieux de confinement (espace au calme, bureau aménagé, bonne connexion internet…) et la typologie de la cellule familiale (avec ou sans enfants en bas âge) ont considérablement impactés productivité et moral des troupes. Autant d’éléments générateurs de colère et de frustration qu’il faudra être en mesure d'accueillir. D’ailleurs, 31% des salariés ont plus d’attentes cette année à l’égard de leur entretien annuel, selon un sondage du jobboard Welcome To The Jungle paru en novembre 2020. Parmi leurs attentes majeures, 41% citent la capacité de projection dans l’avenir, 22% la sincérité et l’authenticité des échanges, 19% une qualité d’écoute et d’empathie et 15% des feedbacks de qualité et pertinents.

Dans ce climat incertain où les critiques risquent d’être mal acceptées, il vaut mieux prioriser le besoin de reconnaissance et valoriser la capacité d’adaptation


De manière à éviter toute confrontation, il est vivement recommandé d’éviter la moindre mauvaise surprise. Pour ce faire,veillez à transmettre l’ensemble des documents et informations bien en amont afin de permettre au collaborateur de préparer équitablement son entretien annuel. 

De quoi remettre le feedback en centre des relations manager-collaborateur. Or, d’après le sondage de Welcome to the jungle, plus de 3 salariés sur 10 (31%) déclarent ne pas se sentir en mesure de s’exprimer librement durant ces entretiens.

Pour permettre au collaborateur d’exprimer ce qu’il a vraiment sur le cœur, n’hésitez pas à laisser quelques phases de silence. Un bon moyen pour faciliter la prise de parole.


Bref, à la manière de la phase de retour dans les locaux à la rentrée dernière, il faudra savoir faire preuve d’une écoute active et d’empathie et ne SURTOUT PAS faire comme si de rien n’était ! 

Une augmentation salariale exclue des récompenses 2020 pour la plupart des entreprises

Selon un récent sondage du  Figaro, 1 entreprise sur 5 a l’intention de ne pas accorder d’augmentation. Pour les autres, les montants ont été révisés et la revalorisation salariale s’annonce particulièrement faible. 

Chez Elevo nous pensons qu’il faut veiller à scinder les enjeux opérationnels et financiers en deux entretiens distincts. D’un côté, l'entretien professionnel doit se concentrer sur la montée en compétence du collaborateur (écart avec les objectifs et actions correctives). De l’autre, un autre entretien doit permettre de discuter de l' évolution salariale. Mélanger les deux c’est accentuer le risque de biais dans le comportement du collaborateur, qui risque de ne jouer carte sur table que lorsque la donnée va en faveur de son augmentation. Face à une non revalorisation contrainte, les employeurs doivent parler en toute transparence sur la situation économique de l’entreprise et invoquer le choix de la préservation de l’emploi. 


La bonne nouvelle, c’est que l’augmentation salariale n’est pas le seul levier d’engagement à destination des collaborateurs. Il est envisageable de proposer une formation ou d'être associés à de nouvelles missions valorisantes notamment pour ceux qui se seraient révélés dans la crise. L’évolution envisagée peut aussi impliquer un nouveau service ou de nouvelles responsabilités. 

Enfin, n’oubliez pas de dire merci, c’est peut être un détail pour vous mais pour certains ça veut dire beaucoup. 

Des objectifs tangibles à fixer et à respecter pour 2021

Pour bon nombre de collaborateurs, la crise a pulvérisé les espoirs d’atteindre des résultats assignés avant-crise. Or, d’après le sondage de Welcome To The Jungle, 46 % des salariés interrogés indiquent qu’ils sont moins engagés qu’auparavant et 48 % pensent que leur travail a moins de sens qu’avant

Une question particulièrement prégnante auprès des équipes commerciales où le variable de la rémunération peut avoisiner les 30%. L’évènement appelle à davantage de souplesse dans la (co)définition des objectifs et à intégrer un “mode pandémique”. 

Pour 2021, s' il ne saurait être question de tirer un trait sur des objectifs, il s’agit de changer de dimension. Oubliez les objectifs annuels et découpez les en étapes. Pour vos commerciaux vous pouvez opter pour des Incentives/primes à court terme. 

Quant au contenu des objectifs vous pouvez en proposer de plus accessibles ou plus ambitieux. Si d’aventure vous vous engagez sur cette dernière voie, veillez à ce qu’ils soient révisables en fonction de la conjoncture. 


Sans compter que la crise a assigné la plupart des individus à résidence et les a forcé à “une exploration des mondes intérieurs”, au sens propre comme au figuré. 

Les collaborateurs ont pu découvrir de nouvelles aspirations en termes de mission, équilibre de vie, mobilité, qu’il faut pouvoir prendre en compte. 

Pour ce faire il convient d’accéder aux demandes de télétravail (1 à 2 jours en mode hybride) ou à davantage de responsabilités, via la participation à des décisions du service ou responsabiliser davantage les collaborateurs avec des aménagements de postes par exemples


Enfin, faites la différence et tenez vos paroles. 

70 % estiment que les entretiens annuels ne sont pas suffisamment suivis d’actions concrètes, selon le sondage de Welcome to the jungle. Prouvez-leur donc qu’ils avaient tort et inversez la tendance. 

Chez Elevo, nous en sommes convaincus, le futur des RH sera augmenté par la donnée. Une fois votre campagne d’entretiens terminée, vous êtes capables d'analyser les résultats directement depuis la plateforme. Notre équipe d'experts est à votre disposition pour vous accompagner dans l’usage de la donnée afin de piloter votre stratégie RH et mettre en place des actions concrètes suite à vos entretiens annuels.

Elevo People Analytics Dashboard
Dashboard d'analyse sur la plateforme Elevo


Le Kit Ultime pour réussir vos entretiens annuels

Un rendez-vous à ne pas manquer.
Temps de lecture : 
15
 min
Les entretiens annuels: Un exercice encore plus compliqué avec la crise ?

Nos ressources pour mieux manager vos équipes

Livres blancs, Webinars, Outils et vidéos